My View of Brexit

Usually, I remain impartial when writing this blog, however after the obvious Brexit vote that has occurred I wish to voice my personal views of the outcome.

Personally, I am cautiously disappointed with the UK vote to leave the EU.

Hands up, I am still learning about political theory, facts and idea’s, so my personal thoughts may not be perfect, but I do have a large interest and passion for politics so I feel my views are valid. I also study it in parts at university, I write this political blog and I am also working in politics for my year-long placement as evidence for this.

Onto my in-depth view. After so many pre-warnings by top experts across many departments from the economists like the IMF, to the security folks like MI5, I am surprised at a brexit after some of the statements Vote Leave have come out with overtime. In terms of their biggest arguments for leave, I believed the 350million a week given to the EU that was written on the big red buses of vote leave was false, it was far less considering what we gain back from the EU and the rebates in place. I believed that Turkey were never close to joining the EU that Vote Leave stated in it’s leaflets, where around 79million people would have had access to come to the UK to live and work. I also believed that their arguments on ‘saving’ the NHS and sustaining the Economy were no where near as strong as Stronger In’s arguments.

Nevertheless, I am a big believer in the economy, pragmatism and state-collectivism and I believed working in a reformed European Union with the other 27 EU states was best for Britain overall. I believed the Economy would have thrived further in the EU, due to the free-trade act and deals we have within the 500 million+ (people strong) EU economy on offer. Speaking as a conservative, cosmopolitan and humanist, I believed the fact that people could have a more democratic chance of working and living across Europe and embrace the ever growing notion of globalisation was fundamentally positive for the UK to be a part of. I believed simply that the UK was better, stronger and safer in the EU. Now, I hope overtime these concepts can be used to keep the UK on track, stay strong economically and remain secure as a nation.

The EU is far from perfect, thats fact. Much needs to be changed overtime. However, I believed we should have stayed in the EU to voice our views at the table and help to change the EU system and bureaucracy for the better of all EU states. Uncertainty is now at large for the UK. Cameron will resign in October, the SNP want Scottish Independence, the pound has been hit hard and political carers such as Jeremy Corbyn and George Osborne are in turmoil just a day after leaving the EU. As a young 20 year-old male, I am nervous and cautious as to what the future holds, as it could be my generation that picks up any negative implications from a brexit overtime.

For those who wanted a Brexit, I now hope you can achieve all you voted for. For example, gaining back our ‘lost’ sovereignty, getting the job that migrants were taking from UK citizens and governing by our own rules and accepting the uncertainty that lies ahead. I also hope that you voted for the benefits that Brexit might give yourself and I hope you did not vote as a protest against the current government, or because you weren’t entirely sure what to do.

For those that wanted to stay, I hope that the UK can heal the potential wounds that have opened and we embrace the democratic decision that has occurred. I feel the UK will get back on track eventually as it’s within our nature to overcome uncertainty and turmoil. For instance, we have overcome major recessions, world wars and major domestic issues over the last century or so. This can be dealt with eventually.

I now hope the nation comes together and unites in the decision chosen. I hope the UK can now move on to negotiate good trade deals. I hope the UK can create fair migrant deals and those few MPs who wanted a brexit will especially do the UK justice. I hope the Pound will level out to after the large potential losses it faces. I also hope that Scotland will remain within the UK to keep it united and stronger, as well as Northern Ireland and Wales. Uncertainty is at large, but time is a great healer and hopefully the UK will eventually level out and be strong as an independent state with it’s own voice, laws and sovereignty under the right ideologies, government and UK voice.

6 thoughts on “My View of Brexit

  1. So you don’t like democacy and would rather be ruled over by an unelected vast herd of Corporate “Yes Men” that rubber stamp the laws in exchange for 3x what a Preisdent or Primeminster earns ?

    The EU is more or less a FASCIST CORPORATE CARTEL with many many many links to NAZIS

    The Merger of Corporations and State = FASCISM

    Like

    1. I never said that I didn’t like democracy. The UK has it’s own laws and is one of the finest democracies in the world, hence why it gave UK citizens the right to vote for their future. Some like the result, some don’t. But like I say, I am accepting the result and I wish to move on and hope that politicians negotiate Brexit for the best interests of all UK people. The EU isn’t perfect and that’s what i’ve clearly stated, and it is certainly not linked entirely to ‘Nazi corporations’ and I believe that comment to be horrendous quite frankly considering what the Nazi’s did overall. Democracy in my view allows people to live, work and speak the way they wish to freely with little backlash to their views, so if anything, a brexit is going against a part of democracy. I have no problem with people voicing their views like you have, as long as they don’t harm others or cause offence alike yours. You should be ashamed.

      Like

    1. It’s my right to view my personal opinion, especially written within my own blog. Cowardly comments like this are intolerable and undemocratic to say otherwise, and you should think twice before trolling because it can cause psychological harm to others. It’s time to stop the divide the country has and not further segregate people within it, and comments like yours are only worsening the division in place so it’s time to move on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

